Daredevil Running Journal

It’s Daredevil Day. I’m gonna track my thoughts throughout the first 3 episodes. I was initially going to do the entire series but this project started to get in the way of my enjoyment of the series so I capped it at 3. Time stamps here will give you an idea of what just happened and my reaction. One final note, this series was fantastic, the only negative thing I has to say is that I love Arrow but Daredevil is a way better version of Arrow.

Spoilers Start Now:

Episode 1: Into the Ring

5:58 Already a fight scene and its fantastic, chills seeing him in action

The opening credits are beautiful

10:30 I love the casting of Foggy

11:38 And that was a flat up reference to The Avengers….

13:30 I haven’t read a lot of Daredevil but I think Karen Page is a big deal

14:00 The casting for Matt and Foggy is fantastic

15:23 I already love this show

18:30 Great setup for Kingpin, Kingpin comes off as such a big bad

20:30 I love how much they researched the legal shit

21:50 Great banter between the two

28:00 Damn

29:00 I have not read much Daredevil but I am already terrified of the standard Matt Murdock girlfriend badness happening to Karen

31:00 It is pouring rain outside my window and I just turned out the lights in my room and it makes the viewing experience even better

35:00 Who are these dudes?

40:00 Saw that coming

40:20 That too and it doesn’t even remotely diminish my enjoyment of this experience

41:00 Holy shit they can fight on this show

46:33 Seriously I hope the Matt Murdock girlfriend badness doesn’t happen to Karen. Also I know it will

48:40 I am going all in on the punching bag at the gym tomorrow

End: So yeah they are doing it and not dumbing anything down

Episode 2: Cut Man

3:16 It’s crazy how little the first episode featured Matt in costume and yet I enjoyed it so much. All credit to the actors

5:06 I really hope Stick shows up at some point (the only Daredevil story I’ve read is Frank Miller’s The Man Without Fear)

7:49 So very street level

8:26 It ain’t how you hit the mat it’s how you get up. That’s going on the wall

9:20 FOGGY IS THE BEST

14:00 I am gonna guess she was important in the comics, maybe a Leslie Tompkins esq character?

18:00 Hell yes I can’t wait to see what happens next

22:02 They are doing it!

24:09 Slightly bummed about that outcome

24:40 That was awesome

26:56 This cast is so fun

29:00 Thank you Foggy for the eternal optimism

34:11 This will end horribly

37:00 These two are the best

38:00 Its amazing how much optimism Foggy and Karen bring to a such a dark show

39:30 Hail Hydra?

41:14 I love the Nolan Batman movies but I really appreciate the lack of Bat-voice

42:46 She’s totally Leslie Tompkins to Daredevil

43:47 Battlin’ Jack’s robe looks so good

47:24 They have nailed the lone man vs. all evil vibe

50:14 That was an amazing fight sequence

Episode 3: Rabbit in a Snowstorm

1:02 Bowling lanes are alway sketch

1:29 Is he Bullseye?

3:53 I don’t think so

6:42 This episode has already featured the most sunlight I’ve seen so far in this series

12:43 It’s a skill to be that nice but creepy at the same time, not everyone is able to pull it off as well as this due is

17:13 Ok so this is going to be interesting

17:37 I love the subtle “Battle of New York” newspaper headline there

18:16 If I read a lot of Daredevil I think this would be really exciting

21:44 One of the better interrogation scenes I’ve seen

24:12 Do anime glasses rules work in all tv shows

25:30 They worked with a lot of lawyers on the show, they had to

29:19 I was wondering when they were gonna reference Claire

32:49 So evil glasses guy definitely bought the jury

34:00 So it took 34 minutes for Matt to show up in costume

39:18 Nice speach Matt

40:40 That is a very clever reason for using Matt and Foggy on that case, good job Bad Guy

44:00 Have they confirmed that the newspaper is the Daily Bugle? Or can they not call it that because of Spider-Man rights

47:15 Again I love the way they fight, its fucking brutal and I love the spin kick thing he does

48:50 damnnnnnnnnnnnnn

50:36 I can’t wait for more Kingpin

Also it is really hard to find images from this series online.

Leave a comment